Keynote Speakers

Jacquelien Scherpen, Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, The Netherlands.

Jacquelien M. A. Scherpen received her MSc and PhD degrees in 1990 and 1994 from the University of Twente, the Netherlands. She then joined Delft University of Technology and moved in 2006 to the University of Groningen as a professor in Systems and Control Engineering at the Engineering and Technology institute Groningen (ENTEG), fac. Science and Engineering at the University of Groningen, the Netherlands. From 2013 til 2019 she was scientific director of ENTEG. She is currently director of the Groningen Engineering Center, and Captain of Science of the Dutch top sector High Tech Systems and Materials (HTSM). 

Her current research interests include model reduction methods for networks, nonlinear model reduction methods, nonlinear control methods, modeling and control of physical systems with applications to electrical circuits, electromechanical systems, mechanical systems, smart energy networks and distributed optimal control applications to smart grids. 

Jacquelien has held various visiting research positions,  and has been and is at the editorial board of a few international journals among which the IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control, and the International Journal of Robust and Nonlinear Control. She received the 2017-2020 Automatica Best Paper Prize. She received a royal distinction as Knight in the Order of the Netherlands Lion, and she is a fellow of IEEE. 
She has been active at the International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC), and is currently member of the IFAC council. She is a member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Control Systems Society, and was chair of the IEEE CSS standing committee on Women in Control in 2020. From 2020 to 2021 she is president of the European Control Association (EUCA).

Stefano Stramigioli, University of Twente, The Netherlands

Stefano Stramigioli received the M.Sc. with honors (cum laude) in 1992 and the Ph.D with honors (cum laude) in 1998. He is currently full professor in Advanced Robotics. He is an IEEE Fellow, an ERC AdG laureate and member of the Royal Holland Society of Science and Humanities (KHMW). He is currently serving as the Vice President for Research of euRobotics, the private part of the PPP cooperation with the European Commission known as SPARC, the biggest robotic civil program worldwide.  He is the coordinator of the Digital Innovation Hub on Robotics for Healthcare ( Among a number of awards, he received the 2009  IEEE-RAS distinguish service award.

He is currently leading a growing group of about 60 people ( He has been Editor in chief of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Magazine, which he brought from the seventh to the first place in the ranking of the Impact Factor among all journals on Robotics. He has furthermore been  Editor in Chief of the IEEE ITSC Newsletter and guest editor for others. He is member of the Editorial Board of the Springer Journal of Intelligent Service Robotics.

He has been an AdCom member of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society, he has been the founder and chair of the Electronic Products and Services of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society and he has been serving as Vice President for Membership of the same society for two consecutive terms.  He is involved in different projects related to Control and Robotics for medical & inspection applications.

Nationally has been the founder and chair of RoboNED, the national platform coordinating all academic, industrial and governmental institutions on Robotics and responsible for producing a Strategic Research Agenda for Robotics for the Netherlands and he is one of the initiator of the LEO ( robotics center, the first robotic center in the Netherlands.  He has been teaching Modeling, Control and Robotics for under and post-graduates. He has around 350 publications including 4 books.

Oliver Sawodny, Universität Stuttgart, Germany

Professor Sawodny received his Dipl.-Ing. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Karlsruhe, Karlsruhe, Germany, in1991 and his Ph.D. degree from the University of Ulm, Ulm, Germany, in 1996. In 2002, he became a Full Professor at the Technical University of Ilmenau, Ilmenau, Germany. Since 2005, he has been the Director of the Institute for System Dynamics, University of Stuttgart, Stuttgart, Germany.

His current research interests include methods of differential geometry, trajectory generation, and applications to mechatronic systems. He received important paper awards in major control application journals such as Control Engineering Practice Paper Prize (IFAC, 2005) and IEEE Transaction on Control System Technology Outstanding Paper Award (2013). He is member of the editorial board of several journals. He is currently leading a growing group of about 50 people (

He has research collaboration projects with many companies as Audi, Bosch, Daimler, Zeiss, among others. He is the spokesman of large research initiatives of the German Research Foundation (DFG) like the CRC 1244 Adaptive skins and structures for the built environment of tomorrow and the RTG 2543 Intraoperative Multisensory Tissue Differentiation in Oncology. He is member in the board of directors of the Cluster of Excellence Integrative Computational Design and Construction for Architecture (IntCDC).

Herbert Egger, Johannes Kepler University Linz and
Johann Radon Institute for Computational and Applied Mathematics, Austria

Herbert Egger received his Diploma in Industrial Mathematics in 2002 and the Doctor of Technical Sciences in 2005 from the Johannes Kepler University in Linz. After substituting the Chair for Industrial Mathematics and Applications at TU Chemnitz, he became Professor for Scientific Computing at TU Munich in 2011 and Full Professor for Numerical Mathematics and Scientific Computing at TU Darmstadt in 2012. In 2021, he joined the Johannes Kepler University (JKU) Linz and the Johann Radon Institute for Computational and Applied Mathematics (RICAM) as Professor and Group leader for Computational Mathematics.

His current research focuses on the analysis and numerical solution of partial differential and differential algebraic equations, with particular emphasis on the energy-based modelling and structure preserving approximation by generalized Galerkin methods, like mixed finite elements, reduced basis, and variational time discretization schemes. Applications under his consideration include fluid dynamics, energy networks, acoustic and electromagnetic wave propagation, phase-separation phenomena, and electro-mechanical systems as well as related inverse problems. He received best paper awards from the Journal of Inverse Problems and the Rosenbrock Prize from Optimization and Engineering.

Herbert is member of the GAMM Activity Group on Numerical Analysis and of the German/Austrian Society for Inverse Problems (GIP). He was member of the Steering Comittee of the Aachen Institute for Advanced Study in Computational Engineering Science at RWTH Aachen and the Center for Computational Engineering at TU Darmstadt, and recently became member of the Board of Scientific Directors at RICAM.